Skip to main content


ECPS Announces Top Five Teacher of the Year Finalists  
Posted 12/13/22


Pensacola, FL - The Escambia County School District has released the names of the top five finalists for 2024 Teacher of the Year. The five finalists are as follows, listed in alphabetical order:


Anna Harageones           A.K. Suter Elementary

Gary Horne                      Booker T. Washington High School

Melanie Johnson             Kingsfield Elementary School

Angela McFarland           West Florida High School

Allison Roberts               Success Academy


“Our teachers persevere in their instructional efforts against incredible odds.  They prepare each student for the future - as they are the future.  The district is fortunate to have extremely hard-working and dedicated instructors in every school throughout the county,” stated Superintendent Tim Smith.  “These top five educators exemplify the very best in the district.  We hope you will join us in congratulating these outstanding educators.”


The 2024 Teacher of the Year for Escambia County Public Schools will be announced in late January, and honored, along with all district teachers of the year, at a special event.